Good run to finish a long day…

Some days you just know from the minute you get up that it’s going to be a challenge to just make it through.  Today was that day for me.  In the end I got through it, kept a positive attitude (most of the time) and ended up having a pretty decent day. What is interesting about this is that if you would have asked me a few hours ago how my day was, I don’t think I would have had such a positive reflection on the day. So, what changed? Just one little thing…

…I went for a run.

I don’t know if anyone else has found this true, but getting in a workout can change your whole perspective on the day.  It’s amazing how exercise –  whether its running, lifting weights, or doing something else physical – can totally shift your mindset from negative to positive. From depressed to exuberant. Flips the switch from autopilot to jet pilot. Today was a prime example of that for me.  As I noted above, I kind of slogged through the work day, not feeling bad – just not feeling, well, alive or engaged. Once I got home, things were more challenging – the kids were a little insane and I was moderately grumpy, never a good combination.  There was yelling. I do that sometimes, I don’t like it – but it happens.  At any rate, thanks to my loving and patient wife we all got through dinner and the kids eventually went to bed.

And then I ran.

And I felt better.

Reflections on the day seemed brighter and the future seems more exciting.  All of this because I hauled myself to the gym, hopped on the treadmill and ran 2 miles.  Yep, that was all it took to flip the switch – 2 miles, less than 20 minutes. I feel like a different, new, better, me. Call it ‘runners high’, blame it on the endorphin’s, I don’t really care – I’m just glad to end the day happy, healthy, and looking forward to doing it all again tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

