I miss my blood…

Another Sunday, another long run.

I headed out the door this morning at about 7:00 am, the weather was perfect – about 70 degrees, light breeze and sunny. Nice. I didn’t really have a plan for a set distance. For one, our vacation last week set me back a bit and second, road construction has totally obliterated most of the routes I usually use. I was shooting for a nice, easy, long run. I got the long, but didn’t really get the nice nor easy.

Here is the route I took:

I took just over 2 hours, 21 minutes to complete the 14.55 miles. When I left the house I thought I was feeling a little sluggish, breathing a little harder than normal. About a mile out things started to come together a little bit and I started to feel better. The next 10 miles actually ticked by pretty well, I felt OK (not great) and I was running a pretty steady pace.

Then. it. all. fell. apart.

The last 3.5 miles were not fun. I was tired, sore, stiff, sore, tired, and – did I say I was tired? Anyhow I made it home safe and sound. In the end that’s all that is really important.

As soon as I got home I realized the problem. I gave blood on Friday at work. Duh. No wonder my run was sub-par and I felt pretty cruddy – I’m low on oil. I suppose it’ll take a little while to get my volume back and get to feeling normal again. I’ll have to remember that next time I donate.

Oh, also, please DONATE BLOOD. If you’ve heard my story, you know, someone (or a group of people) saved my life in 2006 by donating blood. I needed it then, they gave it, I’m still here. I’ll be making sure I donate every chance I get for the rest of my life – I hope you do to.

Thanks!

Aaron

Leave a Reply

