Tempo Run

Today was a tempo run.  Personally, I think this is the hardest of the 3 core workouts in the FIRST training plan. 

Anyhow, here’s what I did:

  • 2 miles @ 9:21 (easy pace – 9:23 from the pace chart)
  • 3 miles @ 7:41 (short tempo pace – 7:48 from the pace chart)
  • 1 mile @ 9:21 (easy pace again)

Total Time: 51:21

Heart rate data:

  • Avg HR: 159
  • Max HR: 183
  • Calories: 753

This was a hard work out for me, but I Was able to fight though the fatigue and make the tempo.  So far, I am really very,very impressed with the accuracy of the pace charts that are used by the FIRST training program.  They are based on my last 5K time (23:20) and seem to deliver just the right amount of stress and fatigue during the various training sessions.  Also, I like the variety that the three core workouts provide. (Speed, Tempo, Distance).

Thanks!

Aaron

Technorati Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

