My Plan (2 of 30)

OK, as I stated in my post yesterday, while I have been able to keep up with my running for the most part – I have done so without much of a plan or any goals in mind. I have just been running as long or as short as I feel on any given day. Some days that translates to 2 miles, other days it turns in to 7 miles, most days are right around 3.5 miles. I would guess my weekly milage would average around 12 to 15 miles – obvioulsy some weeks are better than others. Nothing to write home about, but it has prevented me from gaining any weight over the winter. Also, the light running schedule has kept me injury free.

So, with all that, I want ther to be a change. I want to accomplish the following things:

  • Run 5 days a week
  • Swim 2 days a week
  • Log between 20 and 30 miles a week

The 5 days of running will have to be done over the course of the whole week (an early morning run on Sunday), with a swim on Tuesday and Thursday over lunch. The swimming isn’t quite as important, but I’d like to get back in the pool with the Masters at the YMCA in Minneapolis. They are good bunch of guys (and gals) and they make swimming FUN! Plus, it’s great cross-training.

Obviously, I’ll have to build the milage over the next few weeks, I can’t just double my milage overnight.

What are your thoughts? Is this even possible? I’ll post my plan over the next few days, but I love to see your schedule and suggestions for making it all work. I’ve never been busier than right now and I really want to run the Twin Cities Marathon again this year – training has to start NOW!

With that – I’m open to suggestions!

Thanks!

Aaron

Leave a Reply

