Read more at CompleteRunning.com!

Recently due to some health concerns (which are now more or less resolved), I have been spending more and more time in the swimming pool. Please read my recent post at CompleteRunning.com on Running and Swimming.

Here’s and excerpt:

I started swimming competitively when I was about 11 or 12 years old. Since then swimming has at different times drifted in and out of my workout regimen. I have always felt that swimming was a good way to stay fit, but it wasn’t until I started running and training for the Medtronic Twin Cities Marathon in 2006 that I really recognized the true value of integrating swimming into an overall fitness plan—specifically a fitness plan including running loads of miles.

Swimming and running compliment each other in so many ways it really should have been clear to me earlier on that paring the two was going to be very beneficial…

Read the whole article at CompleteRunning.com! I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it! Let me know your thoughts, leave me a comment here or at CompleteRunning. I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Media_httpec2imagesam_fqnsf

Zoomers Z2 Swim Training Fins

3 thoughts on “Read more at CompleteRunning.com!

  1. Hi Aaron,I read your article on complete running with great interest. I like the idea of swimming as an addition to running! I was wondering… you said in your post that you’d be willing to help a beginner set up a swimming program. Wanna give it a shot? I swim occasionally at my local pool, but I have no clue how to organize myself to actually improve (swimming is HARD!), and I really feel like I’m not doing myself a lot of good. I’d appreciate any advice you could give me.

  2. Aaron, I too would enjoy some advise on setting up a starter workout. As I think I told you before, I struggle swimming a 100 yds straight right now. I know I just need to get past the first couple weeks of hell to get into the groove. I distinctly remember the hellish first couple weeks from H.S. By the way, I went and purchased a new speedo and goggles today and I am set to start tomorrow morning! Thanks E!Corey

  3. Wow! It\’s great to hear from both of you. I will put together a couple of solid beginning workouts for you both and get them to you by Monday. How does that sound?Corey – great to hear that you\’re motivated to get started swimming. Actually getting to the gym is the hard part for me, once I\’m there I can focus. Also, I find the time in the pool is a lot different now than it was in high school – it\’s a more peaceful, reflective time for me – even when I\’m working hard. The rest of my life is so packed full of stuff and things, finding time to organize my thoughts is important – getting in the pool allows me to do that. Maybe you\’ll find the same…You can both look for an email from me in the next couple of days!Thanks!Aaron

Leave a Reply

