I made it!

Today’s workout was real challenge for me. I knew going in that it was going to be hard, but I was determined to finish the whole thing.

Here it is, it’s pretty simple:

40 X 100 yards on 1:45

I did the first 10 on 1:30 and the last 30 on 1:45. I knew I couldn’t hold the 1:30 interval for all of them so I hung on as long as I could. My splits were pretty consistent, coming in between 1:20 and 1:30 for all 40. Around the 25th or 26th one I started getting cramps in my feet and calf. If you’ve ever swam, you know how much this sucks. I stretched a little and got them worked out, but it was still no fun for the last 10. The important part is that I made them all.

This is the longest, most strenuous swimming workout I’ve completed since high school. Since 1991! While I was swimming today I was thinking about that and it really made me proud – proud of all I have overcome this year, proud of the progress I have made in the last year and half, and mostly just thankful that I am still here and able to push myself. I am truly a lucky man.

What a great feeling.

By the way, the last day in December brings 50 X 100 yards. Something to look forward to!

Media_httpec1imagesam_cnbrk

The Fit Swimmer : 120 Workouts & Training Tips

Leave a Reply

