Nice spin today and exciting news

Wednesday was a great day.  I went for a short run in the afternoon (over lunch) and then went out again in the evening for another 2.5 miles.  While neither were my fastest or hardest efforts, they both felt good and easy.  The evening run was with a friend of mine from the fire department and it was really great.  I’ve been running alone pretty much all the time, and having someone to talk to was nice.  I also pushed David in the jogging stroller and he seemed to really enjoy himself
too…

Today was a cross training day on my schedule, so I went to spin class.  It felt a little odd not to run, but I really noticed my improved conditioning while I was on the bike.  I really had to push hard to get my heart rate up.   That’s good though, right?  I was able to get in about 11 miles in the 40 minutes I was on the bike.   My max HR was 165 with an average of 120 (including warm up and cool down).  All in all a good workout.  Tomorrow it’s back
on track for another run – 45 to 55 minutes, so I should be able to get in about 5.5 to 6 miles.

Additionally, I have an announcement!

I am officially registered for the Twin Cities Marathon on October 1, 2006!  I have a lot of miles to put in between now and then, but I know I can do it.  I’m really looking forward to the challenge.  I am intent on listening to my body and trying to ensure that I don’t get injured.  I’m running for Team Capella and I’m also going to be raising money for the American
Cancer Society
.  I will follow-up with more on my fund-raising efforts…

Technorati Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

