LIVESTRONG – Blogging against cancer

Wednesday May 17 is LIVESTRONG Day.  Lance Armstrong is asking all of us to help raise cancer awareness by blogging about Cancer today, so here is my post…

About a week ago, I wrote the following:

Another important thing I have learned, and this came to me just today after my workout, is this; you never really know the absolute joy of being healthy, until you have faced serious illness and recovered.  I didn’t have cancer, but I think I now have a better understanding of what powered Lance Armstrong up those mountains for seven years in the Tour de France. Sure, he has great physical strength
and incredible cardio fitness, but – most importantly – he has seen the other side of things. He knows the fear, weakness, and depression that illness can bring and therefore he knows the joy of health, fitness, and wellbeing. I know I will never take my health for granted again. I will work everyday to make sure I stay healthy, that I enjoy life, and that I use my time to be a better person.

At the time I wrote this, I didn’t really think about it too much, I have been a Lance fan for a long time and using him as an example of how to rise up over adversity – cancer or otherwise – is not much of a stretch.  Anyhow, I have been personally touched by cancer – I think most everyone has been – and I can only hope that someday, somehow someone finds a cure. 

Thanks!

Aaron

Technorati Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

