Ahhhh….

The past two or three days have been wonderful. I finally feel that I am getting back to my old self. I’m not feeling any pain, I don’t get super dizzy every time I stand up (a complication due to losing loads of blood) and I’m not feeling as weak and tired in the evenings as I was last week. With the way things have gone over the past couple of weeks I keep waiting for something to go wrong, but as of yet, nothing has. I continue to get stronger and feel more normal every day.

I finally feel like I can breathe and relax a little, start enjoying life again, get back to the things that are important. I’m so looking forward to getting outside when the weather gets a little nicer – this spring snow really bites. Alex is all ready asking about riding his bike and going for bike rides. I think this summer I’ll teach him to ride with no training wheels – that should be interesting! Alex told me the other day that he’d like to ride his bike with me when I go running this spring and summer, I think this is a great idea! David seems to be getting bigger everyday and he is saying a new word or two everyday. I’m looking forward to going to the park and playing with my boys this summer. I missed a good portion of last summer with my weight loss surgery and healing. Not this year, I’m going to be 100% and ready to go!

If there is anything that I can take from the events of the last 3 weeks, it’s that life changes in the blink of an eye. One minute you’re there, the next you might not be. I’m lucky, I’m still here and I’m not going anywhere. I’m lucky. I’m lucky. Damn, I’m lucky. This bump in the road has brought a lot of things into focus for me. I hope that I can take this new found clarity and transfer it into being a better person, living a more family focused life, loving my kids more, loving my wife more, letting those around me know how important they are to me. I know that’s a lot, but my life has been forever changed, I’m not going to let myself be who I was – I’m going to better than ever.

Better. Than. Ever.

Technorati Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

