Bump in the road…

It has been quite a while since I have updated this blog and for that, I am sorry. I will try to be more vigilant in the future and more consistent in my posts. I need to make a commitment to write for at least 10 minutes a day, no matter what.

Anyhow, on to recent developments. One of the main reasons that I haven’t been posting a lot lately is that things have been going so well. Seriously. I have been consistently working out 3 to 5 times a week. Running, swimming, biking, all of it. I was feeling that I was in the best shape of my life. But, as usual for me, there is always a wrench to be thrown in.

On Saturday (February 19, 2006) I started my day with a meeting for the fire department where I work (part-time). Shortly before the end of the meeting, I started to feel a little uncomfortable pressure in my abdomen, which, with my previous weight-loss surgery, was not that unusual. I attributed it to eating a little differently over the previous few days. After getting home, having lunch, and starting to feel much, much worse, I drove myself to the local hospital ER. After the ER docs got me some pain medication and ran some tests, I found out that I had Gallstones and that was causing the pain. They discharged me, told me to get an appointment with my doctor, and gave me some pain medication. I went home. End of story, right? Not even close…

Sunday, I woke up with a dull ache in my gut which I attributed to the previous days issues and trauma. However, the pain continued throughout the day, got worse after lunch, and then I started running a fever which continued on into the evening. By Monday morning the pain was manageable but ever present, and the fever had increased to over 101 degrees. I called my doc and he told me to back to the ER right away. So, at 9:30 am on Monday morning I drove myself back to the ER to be checked out again.

Turns out I had Cholecystitis. This is an inflammation/infection in the gallbladder, and it meant that my gallbladder needed to be removed – soon. So, a few hours later I was in surgery and the darn thing was removed. The entire procedure was done laproscopically, so I don’t have any major incisions or wounds to worry about. Thankfully, I should heal quickly.

I’ll keep you posted on my progress.

One thought on “Bump in the road…

  1. […] Well, one week ago at this time, I was being wheeled around the hospital to have my second ultrasound in three days. This was all being done in an effort to determine what was wrong with me. Turns out I had an inflammation of the gallbladder. You can read about it here. […]

Leave a Reply

