Week 2 – Day 1 – Swim

I didn’t really feel “in the groove” today. I went Ice Skating yesterday (Sunday) with my family and I think I tweeked a muscle in my leg. When I woke up this morning it was a little sore and tight, after swimming for a little while it did loosen up and it actually feels better now than it did this morning. I’ll have to keep an eye on that.

I was running a little late this afternoon, so I wasn’t able to put in the yardage I wanted to, but I did work pretty hard on what I did. Here is my workout for today:

Warm Up

  • 200 easy

Drill Set

  • 5 x 100 on 2:00 minutes (I made all these under 1:30)

Conditioning Set

  • 100-200-300-300-200-100 Up and down the ladder
  • 8 x 25 on :30 sec

Cool Down

  • 150 easy

Total Yardage: 2250 yards

In addition to everything else, I didn’t plan my workout ahead of time. Not planning is planning to fail, right. Yep. My workout reflects this lack of planning, I need to ensure that I write out my workouts ahead of time. This will do two things. 1. I will do all the necessary yardage. 2. I will put more thought into my workout and ensure that I am gettingthe most impact out of my limited time.

Finally, I requested a couple of videos and books on the “Total Immersion” swimming program from my library (I LOVE MY LIBRARY!). The philosophy seems interesting and from what I can tell the technique plays to some of my strengths and might allow me to improve both my endurance and speed. We’ll see and I’ll keep you posted.

Good luck!

Leave a Reply

