Day 5 – Swim Day

The end of week one.

Today was, by all accounts, one of the tougher workouts of the week. Over the course of the week I’ve done some reading and found that I needed to possibly modify my swim set a little to get the maximum benefit out of the time I have available. In an effort to do that, I added a longer set in the middle of my workout to help with conditioning. For the type of swimming I want to do (longer, open water swims) the short, fast sets I had previously focused on were doing me little good. I need to build endurance, not speed.

So here is my workout from today:

Total Time: 50 min

Warm up

  • 200 easy

Technique

  • 3 x (100 swim, 100 kick, 100 pull) on :30 sec rest
  • 10 x 25 on :10 sec rest

Conditioning

  • 1000 straight swim (I made this in 16:50 averaging 1:39 per 100, not bad for the first week)

Cool Down

  • 150 easy

Total Yardage: 2500 yards

Overall a good workout, with a little more yardage than previous sets. I actually found I liked the 1000 straight better than the ladder set (100-200-300-300-200-100) I had been doing earlier in the week. Also, I think adding some kicking and pulling will help improve conditioning also.

While I wanted to keep my workouts mainly to the work week (M – F), I think I’m going to need to add a workout over the weekend. I really want to add some strength training once a week and I don’t have time to do that during lunch. In addition, I need to find time to add one long run workout a week (1 hour or so) to add to my running conditioning.

Good luck!

Leave a Reply

