Day 3 – Swim Day

As I sit and write this, the skin on my face is dry and irritated. My eyes are bloodshot, and anyone who didn’t know me would quite possibly assume I spent most of last night drunk. I didn’t. I did however spend my lunch hour in the pool – leaving me in this state. Its been so long since I spent any considerable time in a pool, I’d forgotten the feeling of chlorinated hair and skin. In reality the smell of the pool and the constant flow of lap swimmers up and down the lanes really bring back a flood of memories.

As a kid, I was a swimmer. I started in 5th or 6th grade swimming for the Mankato Mantas. If you follow the link you’ll see one of the coaches, Terry Robinson, pictured. Terry was one of the coaches I had during my time with the Mantas and he is a genuinely good person and a great coach. I’m really glad to see he is still coaching. During high school, I swam for Mankato East High School and was coached by Tim Johnson. Another good person and great coach. I was really lucky that during the 10 years or so I spent in competitive swimming, I had good coaches who cared about the kids they were working with. Anyhow, I spent a good portion of my youth in the pool swimming laps and now, 20 years later, I’m glad I did.

Onward. Here is my workout for the day: (Actually, its the same as Monday)

  1. 200 yard warm-up (200 yards total)
  2. 12 x 25 on :10 sec rest (300 yards total)
  3. 8 push offs on :45 sec (200 yards total)
  4. 100-200-300-300-200-100 on :10 rest per 100 yards swum (1200 yards total)
  5. 12 x 25 on :40, :35, :30 (300 yards total)
  6. 100 Double Arm Backstroke (100 yards total)

Total yardage for the day: 2300
Total workout time: 45 min – 50 min

Today seemed harder than Monday. I guess I just wasn’t as fresh. I think in the coming weeks I’m going to put in some longer conditioning sets and take out some of the shorter sets. My goal is not to be the fastest at a 25, rather, I want to be able to grind out mileage at a respectable pace. I think doing some 1000’s in the middle of some shorter stuff will help get me there. I’ll do some research and come up with a plan.

Leave a Reply

