Day 2 – Bike & Run

This is day 2 in a series of posts that will chronicle my journey to fitness. Today, along with my workout update, I’ll give you a little background on where I was just one short year ago. I think having a taste of my history will help give you a better idea of how far I’ve come and a better understanding of my drive to achive lifetime fitness.

One year ago, today:

I walk up to the counter to place my order. I speak to the cashier in a low voice hoping the co-workers who joined me on my quest to Taco Johns for Taco Tuesday don’t hear the volume of food that I order. The order? 5 hard shell tacos, 1 large Potato Ole, and a large soda. Easily enough food for 2, possibly 3 adults, and certainly enough calories to keep me primed at 350+ pounds for a good long time. I know that I don’t need all that food. I also know that eating all those calories and fat, day after day, is slowly killing me. And yet, I eat it. I eat it all.

Today:

Today was a challenge. Everything started out wrong. First, half-way on my way to the gym, I realize that I left the bag with my soap and shampoo sittign at my desk. No big deal. First, the YMCA where I workout has soap for free and I can make it one more day without my special soap and shampoo. Next, as soon as I start getting dressed, I realize that I have no socks. Again, not a huge problem, I can go, for one workout, without socks. On I go. I’m determined.

I head up to the spinning classroom and start getting a bike ready for class. My instructor informs me that the class is full and, while i am welcome to stay and see if everyone shows up, chances are pretty good I’m not going to be able to stay. I’m like number 10 or 11 on the “alternate” list and the regulars are already starting to show up. I take this too in stride. I head out of the classroom and find a stationary LifeCycle bike I can ride. Finally, a little later than expected, my workout starts. Here are the details:

Bike

  • Total Time: 30 minutes
  • Total Distance: 9.4 miles

Run

  • Total Time: 10 Minutes
  • Total Distance: 1.0 mile

Heart Rate Monitor Details

  • Exercise Time: 55:02 minutes (includes warmup and cool down)
  • Calories: 729
  • HR Zones
    • Light 16:08 minutes
    • Moderate 9:26 minutes
    • Hard 28:52 minutes

This was a good, challenging workout for me. I pushed myself pretty well on the bike. As soon as my ride was done, I hopped off and got on the treadmill. I have never been much of a runner, even when I wasn’t overly huge. I’ve just never really enjoyed it, but today it felt pretty good. I don’t think that, even when I was in high school, I have ever been able to run a 10 minute mile. I’m not breaking any records, but for me it’s a good start.

Tomorrow is a swim day, I’ll let you know how it goes.

    Leave a Reply

    