Day 1 – Swim day

This is the first in a series of posts that will chronicle my quest to get back in shape and help me feel better.

Today was a swim day. Here is what I did:

  1. 200 yard warm-up (200 yards total)
  2. 12 x 25 on :10 sec rest (300 yards total)
  3. 8 push offs on :45 sec (200 yards total)
  4. 100-200-300-300-200-100 on :10 rest per 100 yards swum (1200 yards total)
  5. 12 x 25 on :40, :35, :30 (300 yards total)
  6. 100 Double Arm Backstroke (100 yards total)

Total yardage for the day: 2300
Total workout time: 45 min

This workout was taken from The Complete Book of Swimming by Dr. Phillip Whitten.

Comments on today’s workout:

I felt really good today. Just glad to be able to get into the pool, swim and actually feel fit and good. I know that if I am going to keep up this pace and level of activity I need to get in more calories. Anyone with any advice, I’d be glad to hear it. I don’t know if supplements are the answer or not, I’m just looking for advice.

Bottom-line, today was a test for me. Could I do an actual workout? Could I stick with the conditioning set (#4 above) and make the yardage in respectable form without stopping? I think I proved to myself today that yes, I can. I made all the sets, and stuck to the rest times. Until I get a better idea of my pace and improve my endurance, I will stick with setting rest times rather than setting total set times (except for 25’s). I feel strong, and I think I can improve greatly if I continue to work at it. Right now I would say if I swam a 100 free all out I’d be around the 1:15 to 1:20 pace. Not bad, but not great either – loads of room for improvement. It can only get better.

Tonight, I’m going to work on planning out my week a little bit better than I have in the past, so I am more prepared for what is to come. Hopefully, with a little foresight and planning, I’ll be able to achieve more with the limited time I have. Time, as always, is at a premium. I want working out, being fit, and having an active lifestyle to become PART of my life, not run my life.

Tomorrow is a bike day, I’m looking forward to a good workout.

Leave a Reply

