Feeling Guilty…

Today I went to the gym for the first time in months and I really feel great. However, something happened during Spin class that left me with mixed emotions.

As you may or may not know, on April 26th, 2005 I had weight loss surgery. More specifically, I had Vertical Banded Gastroplasty (VBG). This is not the typical “Gastric Bypass” or RNY surgery that is all over the news, rather it is a more conservative effort at surgically losing weight. A good explanation of what I had done can be found on WebMD.

Anyhow, back to my story. When I walked into class, the spin instructor asked me if I had lost some weight. I replied back that, yes indeed, I had lost some wieght. About 170 pounds. Now, usually when I get this question I say something like, “I had weight loss surgery, blah, blah” to help explain my weight loss, but in this case I didn’t. I’m not sure why I didn’t tell her, I’m not ashamed of either the fact that I had the surgery nor that at one point I was over 350 pounds. In fact, I’m quite proud that I was able to take control over a seemingly uncontrolable situation and got my life back. I feel great.

However, this is where my guilt comes in. During class, my instructor told the class (with my OK) how much weight I had lost. I got a round of applause and everyone was very happy for me, it felt wonderful to have all that positive support. But, I left class wondering: Would the reaction have been the same had all those people known that I had weight loss surgery? Should I have “come clean” and let everyone know that I needed help to accomplish this feat? Should I feel guilty for not telling the method of my success? Does having weight loss surgery somehow diminish the overall “success” of losing weight?

What are your thoughts? I’d love to hear.

Thanks!

Aaron

Technorati Tags: , , ,

One thought on “Feeling Guilty…

  1. How many times have WLS people been told that having surgery is the “easy way out”? We all know it is not the easy way. It is a last resort, and there is a chance we might not survive the surgery due to being morbidly obese. It is a huge risk we take to have surgery. Never feel guilty that you had the intestinal fortitude to make the decision to have surgery. Personally, I think a loss of 170 lbs – no matter how it gets accomplished, is a huge success to be proud of!And screw anybody who thinks it was easy.

Leave a Reply

