Friday Night Live…

OK, it’s Friday night and I’m online doing nothing. My wife is sleeping in our big overstuffed chair, she looks so warm and comfortable I don’t want to wake her. Nada Surf is blaring from my headphones, keeping me in a constant state of deafness, enveloped in a vacuum of sound. I enjoy the solitude and sanity that late nights provide.

My wife asked me an interesting question tonight about blogs. Here’s how the conversation went:

Jen: “Why does anyone care?”

Me: “About what?”

Jen: “About any of it. Why do people spend time reading this stuff? What makes it interesting?”

Me: “Ummm.. I’m not sure. I don’t think anyone actually reads mine. I read other blogs to learn how to write better or to pick up tips about random things or just to laugh. Some of these things are really funny. But really, I’m not sure…”

Jen: “You’re so weird.”

Me: “Yeah.”

That conversation did get me thinking a little though. Why do I want to do this? What do I hope to get out if it? I’ve decided the answer is, I’m doing it for me. Nothing more, nothing less. If I become a better writer, learn something new, or if someone else enjoys what I write – all the better.

If you actually read this, please leave me comment. I’d love to hear from you.

Good night…

Leave a Reply

